Nine Lutheran Health Network Nurses Receive Nursing Excellence Award

Nursing Excellence Recipients Honored for Contributions to Patient Safety, Quality, Operational Excellence and Connected Patient Care.



Nine nurses have been selected to receive the 2020 Nursing Excellence Award. LHN hospitals located throughout northeastern Indiana and Lutheran Health Physicians chose one outstanding nurse within each entity to receive this honor: Cheryl Fry, RN, Bluffton Regional Medical Center; Vicki Lederle, RN, BSN, MBA, CPDN, Dukes Memorial Hospital; Ana Liter, RNC-OB, Dupont Hospital; Brittany Aleman, RN, Kosciusko Community Hospital; Heidi Downey, RN, Lutheran Health Physicians; Carolyn M. Banyash, RN, BSN, CCRN, CMC, Lutheran Hospital; Mechele Stukey, ASN, RN, Rehabilitation Hospital; Theresa Poorman, ASN, RN, St. Joseph Hospital; and Karen Watson, RN, BSN, The Orthopedic Hospital. 

This peer-nominated award, created in honor of 2020 being the “Year of the Nurse,” and in recognition of the critical role of nurses throughout the COVID-19 pandemic, was open to qualifying RNs and LPNs working in a direct patient care role who consistently demonstrate characteristics synonymous with nursing excellence.